Classical music kittens?

Comments

• violina23 said:
    - Dvorak: His late symphonies are to DIE for. I'm playing #9 in one of my orchestras right now. My husband proposed to me on stage after one of my orchestra concerts during which we played #7, so that one always gives me tingly feelings. The Slavonic Dances were one of my favorite things to study to in college.
    @violina23 LOVELOVELOVE 7. One of the first big orchestral works I got to play. I haven't touched my viola since I was in college but I've been in love with that piece since I was 16 and I always will be!
    The first complete symphony I played was Schubert's 1st symphony when I was a freshman in high school. The piece still makes me smile and wax nostalgic even though he wrote it when he was 16 and it showed! (Perfectly pleasant, but somewhat juvenile).
  • Zoeg, I LOVE Gilbert & Sullivan. How many times have you watched the film "Topsy Turvey?"
  • What a great thread! I play the violin and the harpsichord (and I've dabbled at other instruments including the mandolin). Love baroque and chamber music. One of my favorite pieces (too many to list here) is Giuseppe Domenico Scarlatti: Sonata for Harpsichord in A Major, K.208.

• Awesome, Lorenzo! Violin and harpsichord! :) I am a classically trained pianist. The Greig Piano Concerto in a Minor is a personal favorite.

As far as symphonic words: I love Tchaikovsy's 5th - great piece. Also - Mussorsky's Pictures are an Exhibition.

And all things Mozart. Not so much as a performer, but I could listen to Mozart for hours. I find it soothing.

• Just when I thought I couldn't love TLo more! I'm jealous of your harpsichord skillz. I did my obligatory 10 years of piano lessons but I was never very good at it.

I wish I were a soprano, because I have recently discovered Faure's Melodies and they are gorgeous.